Climbing General

“I can’t climb, I’m not ______ enough.”

Stop.

Before you insert whatever adjective you may decide to put in that blank, listen. The excuses we come up with to put ourselves down or to distance ourselves from our goals are very often just obstacles we create in our heads. “I’m not strong enough” for many people often translates to, “I don’t want to look weak in front of others.” Everyone has to start somewhere and that is one of the first things people need to concur. I started bouldering as a struggling V0 climber. I watched people fly up and down V8’s and V9’s as I lay winded on the mat, recovering from the easiest route they had at my gym. Work on you without worry of others.

I remember in the earlier times of my climbing, I witnessed a man roll into the gym in a wheel chair, get out of his chair and onto the ground, and then proceed to campus a route I’ve never been able to complete. It was inspiring to see someone who, even with a significant physical disadvantage, was able to overcome the obstacle and become one of the most agile climbers I’ve seen in a long time.

You can climb. Regardless of your condition, if you set your mind to it, you WILL make it happen.

© 2017 goo.gl/TFy9dz
